Feast upon the Word Blog

A blog focused on LDS scriptures and teaching

General conference (for any discussion of conference whatsoever)

Posted by joespencer on March 31, 2007

Elder Holland, ladies and gentleman.

21 Responses to “General conference (for any discussion of conference whatsoever)”

  1. robf said

    Twenty years ago (ouch!) Elder Holland was my BYU president. I always enjoy hearing what he has to say. I look forward to reviewing this talk on the power of words when the transcript is posted on the conference site.

  2. nhilton said

    Ha, Robf, Elder Holland was mine, too! An amazing talk he gave today. No one can fill Elder Maxwell’s shoes, but he comes close.

    I found the dedicatory prayer by Pres. Hinckly profound in the sense that he spoke to God just as he spoke to the audience. The familiarity (not in a disrespectful way) with which he addressed His Maker was remarkable. There was no pomp or pretense. I was moved to know that he does indeed KNOW the person to whom he was speaking. Most people change their tone, voice inflection, etc. when praying…not President Hinckley. He was as natural in praying as in a regular conversation.

  3. robf said

    Yeah, that dedicatory prayer was nice. I have a hard time with most conference prayers. The closing prayer for the morning session was good and short (out of time?) and Pres. Hinckley’s was as you described.

  4. joe m said

    Anyone else grin when Elder Holland quoted from the Apocrypha?

  5. nhilton said

    Joe, it was totally cool, wasn’t it!!! But I don’t recall him mentioning which book. I love the doors that open when GA’s do things like this. It gives license to the rest of us to go outside the traditional bounds of LDS scripture to enrich our learning/teaching! I’m going to milk this for all it’s worth. :)

  6. nhilton said

    RE:#5, I mean “license” in the sense that other LDS & our students still listen to us instead of classifing us as Nuts. It encourages scholarship which is something we here all are very sensitive about. Could you imagine the Apochrypha being cited 20 years ago?

  7. m&m said

    #2 –
    No wonder we were encouraged to study Pres. Hinckley’s prayer from 2001. Sounds like we should study this one, too. :)

  8. brianj said

    nhilton, #6: I put a quote from the Apocrypha in my lesson notes handout a few weeks ago. With it, I included a reference to D&C 91. One would think an endorsement in canonized scripture would be enough, but I agree that Elder Holland’s citation is helpful.

  9. Sorry that the sisters missed it, but the closing musical number at the Priesthood session last night was the best musical number I think I’ve ever seen in General Conference! Absolutely beautiful. I’ll buy conference on DVD this year just to have that!

    Nanette, I think you meant to say that no one will ever be able to fill Elder Holland’s shoes, though Elder Maxwell would have come close. I think Elder Holland is the best speaker the Church has ever seen, except for Joseph and Brigham.

    I too appreciated the reference to the apocrypha, and I think Nanette puts it well: people will not look at me like I’m nuts the next few times I cite such sources. I also appreciated Elder Holland’s rather blunt reference to those sealed as gods and goddesses. We seem to shy away from that theme in the D&C a little too much nowadays.

    I was fascinated also by Earl Tingey’s talk. I had never thought to set President Hinckley side by side with Brigham Young, but, by the heavens, he’s right! I’d like to do quite a bit more thinking about that and its historical implications….

  10. I was delighted the extra scriptures are quoted also. I have never cared whether someone thinks I am nuts though from quoting all this wonderful stuff. Nibley was doing it back in the 1940’s, so I figured I’d begin doing so. It’s nice to see some expansion…….

    Best,
    Kerry

  11. robf said

    Joe, Amen on the closing music at Priesthood Session. You’re words are exactly how I described it to my wife this morning.

  12. brianj said

    Rob and Joe—you are making me jealous: I had to miss Priesthood Session (flu).

  13. Austin said

    My favorite quote of conference was from Brother Pace’s talk:
    “My heart yearns for the things my mind cannot accept”.

    It reminds me that I must listen to the still small voice and not look for proof in my studies.

  14. m&m said

    Amen, Austin.

  15. Austin said

    Brother Pace’s talk on testimony fits in very nicely with RS/MP Lesson 7 on testimony. I am giving this lesson next week, and will expand on several points Brother Pace made in his talk.

  16. John said

    The stroke of the whip maketh marks in the flesh: but the stroke of the tongue breaketh the bones.Sirach 28:17

  17. John said

    The closing music of the Priesthood choir was based on Jean Sibelius’ Finlandia but with different words than appear in our hymnal (Be Still My Soul, #124). I thought the piece was remarkably dark and introspective for a General Conference, but tenderly and powerfully performed.

  18. The words were taken, of course, from 2 Nephi 4. I’d love to see the score.

  19. robf said

    Two days later I still get chills thinking about that closing musical number.

    I also enjoyed Elder Holland recommending that we (married couples) sit down and consider ourselves as the gods and goddesses in embryo that we are. We don’t always get that straightforward of a reference to eternal progression.

    I was having video difficulty online with Elder Eyring’s talk Sunday afternoon, but I heard echoes of a talk he gave twenty years ago at BYU that have stayed with me–about the best way to get revelation is to kneel down and ask how you can help someone that day.

    And at some point during conference yesterday, some of the stuff we’ve talked about recently here on the blog (typology, likening unto ourselves, the veil, true messengers, etc.) really came into focus for me. Maybe it was Elder Ballard recounting the history of the apostacy and the restoration–but it really struck me that without the heavenly messengers, both as a church and personally, maybe we’re not in much better shape than the rest of Christianity, or the world in general for that matter. More on that later.

  20. nhilton said

    Joe, #9, No, indeed I meant it as I wrote it: I miss Maxwell’s talks tremendously, but feel Hollands ease my suffering.

    The overall theme of forgiveness is startling to me. Of couse I wonder what this means for me, personally, but also wonder what the future may hold that the church, collectively, may need to exercise this immediate and unconditional forgiveness for. We know the future holds difficult things for us, collectively, to go through. Perhaps this is a call for us to practice forgiveness in preparation for a greater need for forgiveness in the future.

    John #16 & 17, THANK YOU! My husband’s first comments about the priesthood conference were about the closing musical number. He hummed the song to me & I knew what it was, but learning what the words were set to gives me a whole ‘nuther ear for what you brothers experienced. Too bad we can’t READ the number in the May Ensign. Is there a CD of the music by the Mormon TAB or someone else somewhere?

    I do have to say that the music in the tabernacle was spectacular, too. “Come, Come Ye Saints” in that setting is always moving. & the “Oh, My Father” was a beautiful rendition.

    Kerry #10, I do worry about people thinking me “nuts” when I’m teaching a class because then the Spirit can’t teach them because they’ve discounted everything I say to be uncredible. GA’s doing these “nutty” things makes room for the rest of us to carry on w/o suffering the stigma of “nuttyness.” Pres. Holland, especially, has proven himself a maverick in citing many non-cannonical sources. I especially love his literary citations, per his English background.

    Elder Nelson’s etymology efforts were likewise commendable.

  21. when they say it’s ove. Liana Merete.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
