Feast upon the Word Blog

A blog focused on LDS scriptures and teaching

Finding the lost/finding joy – Lesson 18

Posted by cherylem on June 3, 2007

I taught lesson 18 this morning and did not finish my materials until an hour before church – I’m really running behind, but I hope to have lesson 19 done today.

I wanted to mention that after discussing many of the issues and texts from this lesson on the blog (so helpful), my main emphasis regarding this lesson was finding joy – I believe this lesson, among other things, is about joy (as Brian also notes in his post on Three parables that are the same that aren’t).

For those who are interested, my lesson is here:Finding the lost/finding joy

2 Responses to “Finding the lost/finding joy – Lesson 18”

  1. Robert C. said

    Cheryl, thanks for posting this. After our lengthy discussion of this parable, I was struck in reading the Pres. Hinckley quote you included from the manual, “for are we not all prodigal sons and daughters.” I think the main point of the story is the older sons failure to rejoice in the younger son’s coming-home, but Pres. Hinckley’s comments underscore the contrast between the younger son’s genuine penitence and the older son’s feeling of entitlement.

    This reversal between the situation of the older son and younger son was mentioned on the other thread, but somehow it’s just sinking in for me (thinking about the Pharisee and publican praying in Luke 18:9ff also helps me see this point better…). Both sons enjoy a privileged (unearned!) inheritance. Just because the older son is working doesn’t mean he’s “earning” his inheritance. Surely his diligence is appreciated by the father, but to begin thinking about such diligence in terms of entitlement is betraying the same kind of ingratitude that the younger expressed early on.

    Such a rich parable. It’s actually nice having you a couple weeks behind our ward because there’s so much value in reviewing the story after the dust has settled from our earlier discussion of this parable.

  2. cherylem said

    Robert, Thanks for this response. Your thoughts are good and welcome. I also think this parable is rich – it could be harvested for meanings over a long period of time, and with different/deeper understandings each time.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
