Feast upon the Word Blog

A blog focused on LDS scriptures and teaching

NT Lesson 35

Posted by cherylem on September 29, 2007

I loved this lesson – I concentrated on chapters 1 through 6:2. This is simply great stuff.

Mostly this outline is selected portions of the material in three different translations, with a few questions at the end of each section. I think we read Paul so little, even reading these sections and attempting to understand them is a giant step forward for many.

The link to my notes is here: NT Lesson 35 – 2 Corinthians

2 Responses to “NT Lesson 35”

  1. cherylem said

    I wanted to mention briefly how this class went. I tried something new, having paid attention to some of the converation on the blog about teaching methods, including asking questions, creating instant groups, etc. Each time I’ve thought about the method discussed and then discarded it (though I thought the discussions were very good). I also tried to understand why a particular method was being suggested – what problem in the classroom was being addressed and what outcome was being sought.

    Also, some of today’s King James readings were difficult, but on the occasion when I’ve asked for oral readings from other translations, I have felt a spirit of resistance, sometimes even showing in people’s faces. I wanted us to understand Paul, but somehow I wanted to get away from any contention that might be felt when I used other translations.

    So this morning I tried something new. I directed the class to a certain section of the scriptural material, asked them to read it silently, and then asked them to comment on it. That is, as a teacher, I wouldn’t make any comments until they had made some first. The only parameters I gave were that the comments had to be anchored in the scriptures we were reading, and I asked the class to reference the verse(s) they were talking about in their comments.

    Also, if you look at my notes, you’ll see that I gave every scriptural block in three translations, so people could read what they wanted, and I could minimize any comments about this at the same time.

    We did this for four different scriptural blocks, in this order: 2 Corinthians 3:15-18, 2 Corinthians 3:3, 2 Corinthians 2:14-17, and last, 2 Corinthians 5:11 – 6:2.

    I was pleased with how the class went. By everyone reading the same passage silently at the same time, I felt that I saved time that I’ve usually given to oral reading, yet I was able to give more time to silent thought, and the silent reading allowed everyone to “hear” the scriptures in their own voices. Using this method removed me to a large degree as the only teacher in the room, I thought the Spirit was present, and lots of people contributed. Additionally, the comments were all scripture-based and very thoughtful.

    I will use this method again.

  2. Robert C. said

    Very interesting, Cheryl, thanks for describing your problem and “solution” like this, it gives me some ideas for my class….

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
