Feast upon the Word Blog

A blog focused on LDS scriptures and teaching

Violence and Redemption in the Bible

Posted by cherylem on November 30, 2007

One of my favorite books relating to violence in the Bible, and one which treats both Old and New Testament texts, is “Must There Be Scapegoats? Violence and Redemption in the Bible,” by Raymond Schwager. Based on our continued fascination with this subject generally, and reading our different ways of looking at scriptural texts, I thought a reframing of the discussion might be useful. Of course this book will say nothing about our uniquely LDS texts, but I do think Schwager’s take on violence and redemption in scripture is valuable, and I thought some of you might like to hear what he has to say.I would do a series of posts like I did on Paul, if people on the list are generally interested. Let me know. 

5 Responses to “Violence and Redemption in the Bible”

  1. I would love to hear what he says. btw, how does it compare to James Williams “The Bible, Violence, & The Sacred”

  2. cherylem said

    James Williams came later. I’ve sat in several sessions with James Williams – a truly great man, IMO. Mack Stirling brought Jim to Traverse City Michigan once for a private weekend session with a few close friends. It was great.

    Let’s see if others would like this too. I may do a sample post and then see if there’s any interest.

  3. robf said

    Go for it!

  4. Robert C. said

    I’m interested too, Cheryl….

  5. cherylem said

    As usual, it will take me some time. In the meantime, I’m enjoying reading and thinking about the second post on Ricoeur.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
