Feast upon the Word Blog

A blog focused on LDS scriptures and teaching

Book of Mormon Lesson #6

Posted by cherylem on February 5, 2008

I am posting my lesson handout, along with some thoughts on how to read the Book of Mormon, and my friend Mack Stirling’s notes on these chapters from 1994. I would add that Mack himself hasn’t looked at these notes in a bit, and his interpretations/opinions may have changed since 1994.

Mack’s notes are here: Stirling: 2 Nephi 1 and 2

Go here for Mack’s take on the Way of Life and the Way of Death in the Book of Mormon

The chart on 2 Nephi 2:11 leans on A. D. Sorenson’s chapter “Lehi on God’s Law and an Opposition in All Things” in The Book of Mormon: Second Nephi, The Doctrinal Structure.

Here’s some Some background thoughts on reading 2 Nephi 1-2.

I worked through those thoughts because our reading of 2 Nephi 1 is often very ethnocentric – we’re sure that all those promises/curses apply to the good old USofA, and perhaps they do as they apply to all nations everywhere. But Lehi’s promised land was probably limited, geographically, and I wanted to read the text without making that comparison.

Here’s my handout, made easy by everyone else’s great work:

BOM #6 handout

And by the way, this handout references our own James Faulconer’s How to Study the Book of Mormon, here: And hey, it’s Friday night. This is the earliest I’ve had my lesson done for some time.

4 Responses to “Book of Mormon Lesson #6”

  1. Jim F. said

    Cheryl, thanks for giving us access to Mack’s work. It has helped me rethink 2 Nephi 2, something that I genuinely appreciate.

  2. cherylem said

    Jim, you are welcome.

    I am still having the devil’s own time with formatting. It takes me forever. I wish I knew what was causing this. Brian, or anyone, if you want to go into my post and see if there is some command that is screwing everything up, let me know. I can easily redo the formatting on this short post, if your going in there screws things up.

    I suggest you go in and change something. For instance, do the link to Jim’s presentation. For some reason (probably an error I could not see), I could not get that link to work.

    After you change that, and save it, see if the formatting has remained stable.

    Thanks!

  3. NathanG said

    Cherylem.
    The link seems to work now. After I messed with updating quick time on my computer I was finally able to watch Jim F.

  4. cherylem said

    Thanks Nathan.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
