Feast upon the Word Blog

A blog focused on LDS scriptures and teaching

Aaronic Priesthood Lesson 33: Scripture Study

Posted by NathanG on September 13, 2009

I am now teaching the priests in the Aaronic Priesthood in our ward.  I was just looking through our next lesson on Scripture Study and made my (often token effort) perusal of the manual.  The “attention getter” story is as follows:

“Ask the young men to imagine themselves in the following situation. You and your family have gone to spend a few days in the mountains. The area is new to you, and you decide to go for a hike before dinner. As you are walking, you spot a squirrel and begin to follow it. You haven’t paid attention to which direction you are going and suddenly realize that you are lost. The sun has dropped behind the mountains, and it is quickly becoming cold and dark.

  • • What might help you in such a situation? (A map or a compass.)”

Does anybody have a probelm with this story?  If I don’t know which direction I have already gone, how will having a map in the mountains help me?  If I don’t pay attention to which way I walked, I probably didn’t have the smarts to pay attention to where my camp was to begin with.  I think a map does not help most young men in this instance.  Given the priests I have, I am almost certain that they would make a point of this. 

I think I will not use this in my lesson, but what would you teach young men about scripture study?  Or how would you teach young men about scripture study?

8 Responses to “Aaronic Priesthood Lesson 33: Scripture Study”

  1. I have two suggestions for object lessons you could use. These come from the excellent book “Is There An Object to Your Lesson?” by Richard R. Eubank (This book has 88 object lessons in it.) I highly recommend getting this book.

    1) Scriptures as treasure map
    Make a treasure map of the church and put treats at the X.

    “Display a copy of your treasure map and ask the students if they would be willing to take the time to follow the map if they knew there was a treasure to be found at the end….Next hold up a set of scriptures and explain that they are like the map, only they do not lead to earthly riches but to eternal life, which is the greatest treasure of all. Ask them if they would be willing to listen to and follow the instructions in the scriptures like they are willing to follow a treasure map. Have them follow the map and find the treat.”

    Afterwards discuss the level of attention given to the map and compare to the level of attention that should be given to the scriptures.

    2) The scriptures as sword
    Bring a large sword or a picture of a two-edged sword
    Bring a 2 or 3 inch plastic sword used to hold sandwiches together

    Read D&C 12:1-2
    Ask the students which sword they would rather take into battle. Draw a comparison between the size of the swords and the students’ knowledge of the scriptures.
    Encourage daily scripture study, tell students how it can enlarge the sword they will use in the battle for righteousness.
    You may want to discuss Ephesians 6:11-17 and point out how the sword is the word of God and is the only offensive weapon the warrior possesses Every effort counts.

    Good luck on your lesson!

  2. BrianJ said

    Why not use the object lesson, but ask the young men to discuss all the ways it is a poor analogy for the scriptures?

    (Yes, I’m being serious. Although I wouldn’t let on that it comes from the manual.)

    “What might help you in such a situation?” A couple of things:

    1) A watchful young men’s president who followed you from a distance, noting your reckless wanderings and keeping track of the way back to camp.
    2) A kick in the pants.
    3) A loud whistle.

  3. NathanG said

    Brian, that thought had passed through my head. Perhaps I’ll try it, they might enjoy it.

    Michaela, a couple of my young men have been throwing around the phrase, “cuts like a two-edged sword,” and I told them it was from the scriptures. Maybe I’ll use that as part of the lesson.

  4. CEF said

    I would probably try and teach, it is best not to get lost in the first place. If one fails to plan, you plan to fail, kind of thing.

    However, no one is perfect, so thank your father in heaven, that the Shepard seeking his lost sheep will leave the 99 to find you. Repent and learn from your mistakes, is more along the lines I would take.

  5. Kristine Foster said

    Although I am a lady , I am a mormon and I have a suggestion; a few months ago we read and article called * A few degrees* it talked of a naval compass and how a few degrees can set you off by hundreds of miles, if you are a ship and use the ships compass
    The lesson being we must be impeccable in thought and deed because just a mistake few degrees can lead you way off course. We must have faith in the Father and always listen to his word and his direction. Which is exactly what Nephi did.

    Hope this helps

  6. NathanG said

    That might actually go better with this weeks coming lesson on obedience. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Angie said

    A map of the mountains COULD be useful. If you study the map carefully, you can recognize landmarks around you. A compass could help you orient the map properly so that you can recognize your location more easily. I don’t think this analogy is all that bad.

  8. NathanG said

    But you need to have paid enough attention to where your campsite is in relation to those landmarks, if you have a good enough map.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
