Feast upon the Word Blog

A blog focused on LDS scriptures and teaching

Launching a concerted wiki project…

Posted by joespencer on June 15, 2011

Hello all,

I’m hoping to organize a small effort to do some work at the Feast wiki. The idea would be to get a group together that is prepared to work on a text all at the same time. The text remains to be decided; for the moment, I’m just trying to gather a few interested folks. For those who have wanted to contribute to the wiki and would like a bit of guidance in doing so, this is a good opportunity. For those who have a text they are burning to work through, this is a good opportunity.

Takers?

20 Responses to “Launching a concerted wiki project…”

  1. Mike B said

    I’m all in, but I don’t particularly care what text we start with.

  2. Emily said

    Let me know how I can help!
    ~ Emily
    http://www.housewifeclass.com

  3. tonah said

    Sounds intriguing, although I’m not a regular contributor…

  4. Robert C. said

    Joe, I’m game.

    I’m interested in trying to make sense of what’s going on with the switch from monarch to the reign of the judges, so I’d vote for either the last few chapters of Mosiah or the few chapter(s?) of Alma.

    But I’m easy, so I’d be game for any other passage(s).

  5. Rameumptom said

    Joe, I’d be interested in helping, depending on the time required. Text doesn’t matter as I’ve blogged the OT last year, the NT lessons this year, and am teaching an adult gospel class (Institute) on the Book of Mormon in Spanish.

    What may be interesting is a discussion on how the culture of the Jaredites/Mulekites affected Nephite culture from Omni forward.

  6. Jacob said

    I’ll selfishly suggest Alma 14. I’m presenting on it at Sunstone and would love help with some close exegetical work on this chapter, which I think is a difficult chapter for LDS to interpret.

  7. Morgan D said

    Depending on topic and the time requirement I’m interested. I’m best with Warfare in the BoM of course but I can be flexible based on what you need.

  8. […] Launching a concerted wiki project… « Feast upon the Word Blog Launching a concerted wiki project… « Feast upon the Word Blog I'm hoping to organize a small effort to do some work at the Feast wiki. The idea would be to get a group together that is prepared to work on a text all at the same time. The text remains to be decided; for the moment, … Read Full Updates On This Blog […]

  9. kirkcaudle said

    I am partial to the beginning of Alma, but only because that is where I am with my personal studies at the moment :)

  10. BrianJ said

    I’m interested to see where this goes, and will likely join in….

  11. joespencer said

    Possibilities so far:

    Mosiah 25-29 (something in there anyway)
    Alma 14
    Alma 45-62 (something in there anyway)
    Beginning of Alma somewhere

    For several reasons (mostly the fact that I’m in Provo for the summer, and without my library, and so haven’t the resources to do serious Hebrew or Greek work, or textual background on the D&C at any length), I’m also inclined to do something in the Book of Mormon. So I’ll suggest a BoM possibility of my own:

    Something in Samuel the Lamanite’s sermon….

    So, votes?

  12. Ben S said

    I’m interested, dependent on the text, and I don’t have a ton of time in the next little while. Anyone for Genesis 1-3?

  13. BrianJ said

    I’m leaning toward something in Samuel’s sermon.

  14. robf said

    I’m in, been looking for a good scriptural project. Anything Book of Mormon would be my vote.

  15. kirkcaudle said

    I love the Bible just as much as the next person, but the BOM really needs more work done. Therefore, I think we should focus on a BOM passage.

  16. I vote for Mosiah 29.

  17. joespencer said

    Ben, there’s been occasional talk of doing a Genesis 1-3 Mormon Theology Seminar (and you can bet that you’ve been on the list of possible folks to approach for it). Perhaps we should talk about launching one of those over the next year?

  18. Jacob said

    I’m still going to vote for Alma 14. But will be interested in whatever is decided upon. If we do engage Samuel the Lamanite we will have to include Jared Hickman’s exegesis of the sermon.

  19. joespencer said

    Well, without an overwhelming majority leaning in any one direction, I guess I’m in charge of making an executive decision…. And I think I’ll pick Alma 14, since it will benefit Jacob immediately, and I think it’s a text that deserves more attention. If this goes well, we can certainly follow it up with another project. I’ll post guidelines in a second post shortly….

  20. Jacob said

    WOO HOO! Looking forward to this.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
